Gallery of Rogues #4 – Lynne of LilysQuilts

My next interviewee is Lynne from LilysQuilts. I had the pleasure of meeting her at the FQ Retreat, and ‘collared’ her about getting her interview done. So, gap a cuppa & make yourself comfy….

Hi, I’m Lynne and I am a UK blogger who blogs at Lily’s Quilts and am also one of the five who run the online quilting magazine, Fat Quarterly.  And so Lizzie asked me to join her blogroll of guest posters talking about a mahusive monster quilt they made.  This is my Portrait Wall quilt.  So called because it is designed to look like a wall of portraits in a New York loft apartment.  OK so some of the portraits are of ladies and some of teacups but you get the idea.  It was made for a friend of my sister’s who has been more like family to my sister than just a plain old friend.  My sister lives in France so has none of her side of the family around to help with children, life, the universe and everything but Carla has been like family for her so it was a real pleasure to have a chance to make a quilt for her new apartment.
Carla asked me about six months ago if I would make a quilt for her and we agreed on Ruby Star Rising, which is to say I kind of nudged her in that direction and she happily liked the suggestion.
We decided to mix these up with some Kona solids: candy green, coral, ash, charcoal, amber and cyan.
The prints looked to me like they really needed showcasing so I decided to make each of them a picture on a sort of wall of portraits.  Each one was framed with a skinny strip of colour then a charcoal picture frae and hung on Kona coral wall paper.  I Quilted As You Go – sixteen 25″ square blocks to make a whopping 100″ square quilt.  Criss cross quilting on the pictures to give the impression of glass.  Straight line quilting on the charcoal frames and squiggly quilting on the coral wallpaper.
Although quilting each of the blocks was a lot of fun, joining those QAYG blocks was a hellish process.  I quilted them with the backing on and with 2-3″ spare backing all round but taking care to leave the 1-2″ edges of the blocks unquilted.  I then sewed the blocks together using 1/2″ seams and including the quilt top and wadding but not the backing.  I then trimmed, folded, pinned and then sewed the backing down to the back.  Finally I quilted the unquilted areas.  I broke needles, the quilt was unweildy, the pinning was a huge palaver and frankly, it felt like a nightmare that wouldn’t end.
Would I make a quilt this big again?  NO WAY.  Not if I have to quilt on a domestic machine anyway. It finished at 100″ square and was, for me, too big for a domestic machine to quilt, even though I have a machine with a larger quilting throat.  If asked to make something like this again, I would explain to the person commissioning the quilt that they would need to factor in the cost of long arm quilting it!  Having said all that, I am proud of the quilt, it gave me the chance to work with some fabrics I could not have afforded myself and Carla loves it – and that’s what it’s all about for me.
Hope you go over to Lynne’s blog an read all about her other quilty adventures.
9 Responses

  1. Do love this quilt 🙂

  2. Love this quilt! I was lucky enough to see it in the making and it was giant size and very lovely!!!

  3. Love this quilt xx

  4. If I were having my portrait done it’d most likely resemble a cup of tea, and probably a giant one at that! I do like the sound of this quilt, well done for battling to get it done on a domestic machine!

    Now, put the kettle on and take a well earned break! 🙂

  5. I would so hang this on my wall (if I had a bigger wall) x

  6. I love this quilt – I might nip over to France with Archie and see if he can sniff it out!

  7. Fab quilt – great seeing how it was made.

  8. Lovely quilt. I really like the way the prints were framed , and yes I agree QAYG is a nightmare that takes waaaaay to long so use a longarmer to do it for you! (Not that Im biased or anything!)

  9. Good seeing this one close up again, and loving the honesty re. the quilting. My usual QAYG method is similar but the wadding is trimed and joined by hand, maybe makes it a wee bit easier, but no less laborious!

Leave a Reply

