Gallery of Rogues #3 – Cindy from Fluffy Sheep Quilting

My next interviewee is Cindy, aka Fluffy Sheep Quilting.  She was nominated by Hadley (aka FlyingBlindOnARocketCycle) as a possible participant in my mini series. Thanks to both Hadley for nominating, and Cindy for participating.  So grab a drink, pull up a chair and let’s see what Cindy has to tell us…..

Help!  Help!  I have a monster that has taken over my quilting space!

For those of you who I have not already met, I am Cindy.  It’s so nice to meet you!  I blog semi-regularly over at Fluffy Sheep Quilting and have just opened a shop also called Fluffy Sheep Quilting.  I started quilting less than three years ago and blogging over a year ago, but you would never know it.  They have become absolutely central to my life and happiness.   I tend to be drawn to modern quilts, because I love their bold colors and geometric patterns, but I could just as easily be entertained by a traditional quilt.

You’re not here to chat about modern vs traditional quilting, though.  You want to hear about my monster!  I call her Community Quilt and I absolutely love her through and through. 

I was struck by how fantastic the quilting community was when I just started quilting and blogging.  How great folks were at freely giving suggestions to new quilters, teaching new techniques and supporting one another.  So, I wanted to make a quilt that honored that spirit.  

I started requesting scrap donations back in spring of 2011 from quilters in blog land.  I wanted a physical way to link each and every one of us, so I decided on a scrappy Irish Chain-type pattern that would allow for each person in the community to donate fabric from projects they were currently working on and I could combine them into one piece.  And what do you know, but piles and piles of fabric started to arrive.


Oh, goodness!  Time to start piecing!  This pattern called for 1,330 little two inch squares of prints with 512 little background rectangles.  What!?!?  Anyway, I just started to dig in and piece.  It came together faster than I thought it would!



Until there were more blocks than I knew what to do with.  After some fiddling around, I found an arrangement that made me happy. 

Up to this point I was expecting a finished quilt of 82×82 inches.  I just had to add the borders and layer it.  Easy peasy.  But that’s where this project took it’s monstrous turn.  I miss calculated how many blocks I needed for the border.  Instead of making enough for one…I made enough for two!  After all of the time it took to cut the little tiny squares and piece them, you better believe I was going to use that double border!  Still, this enlarged the top by a further 7 inches a side!  Eeek!  I now have a top that measures 96×96 and is truly a monster.  What was I thinking?



And here the story takes a sad turn.  I love this quilt.  Love every little stinkin’ piece of it.  But the quilting is just killing me!  I am having trouble manipulating it under my machine.  Trouble finding a pattern that compliments the piecing.  Trouble in general.  And now she sits in a small pile in my quilting space.  

However, the spectacular Trudi of Quilting Prolifically has just offered to help me design a pattern that might suit and then to quilt it for me.  Thank goodness!

I love this quilt and I want to see it finished.  I just need help.  Would I make another monster?  Not on your life.  Still, I am entirely glad that I made this one so I can now appreciate massive bed-sized quilts when I see them.  (I agree with Cindy… Trying something just once can make us appreciate someone else’s hard work!)

Liz, thanks so much for letting me share my tale.  For your readers quilting a monster right now, I wish you the best of luck and much happiness with your creation!  I know you’re working incredibly hard on it and I am sure every bit of effort will pay off in the end.

It’s been a pleasure to have Cindy take part, as I enjoyed following her quilty adventures in Ireland. (Not exactly a country I would associate with quilting, boy am I wrong! I love the Irish Chain pattern. Maybe I will feature it in my next quilty history post.)

