More Tortoise than Hare

That’s how my Maple Leaf quilt top is coming along. On average it takes about 1.5 weeks, with 1-2 hours in the morning before I go to work and the evenings to do just one Maple Leaf block, and all hand sewn! So it is definitely more Tortoise than Hare. At least I am 3/5ths of the way there, with 16 blocks completed, the pieces cut for 3 and 1 EPP’ed for sewing, leaving 5 more blocks to ‘design’.

Each ML block is 7×7, made using squares 5cm x 5cm. The original ML block includes a stalk, which I have missed out. The colours were inspired by photos and tv films of the New England ‘fall’.  At the Festival of Quilts I picked up a bundle of red/orange/gold fat quarters for £12, which coincidently included 2 prints that matched really well the colours already used in.  No two ML blocks are the same, though some fabrics (particularly the prints) are repeated.

Unless you have been living under a rock for the last few weeks, you would have read that Hadley was one of 3 ‘winners’ of my last giveaway/naming competition. She has posted a piccie of part of her ‘winnings’, a charm pack of Denyse Schmidt’s Picnics and Fairgrounds collection. She will get a name-check on the quilt’s label.

Last Sunday I took some of my ever-growing stash to show my mum, when I went to the parents’ for Sunday lunch. I said that the DS Picnics and Fairgrounds reminded me of 1930s prints, and she agreed.  Something she said later made me think that I have a stash which has a split personality, like Jekyll and Hide. I have either retro type prints or modern prints (like Anna Marie Horner’s Loulouthi). I kind of dread to think how much money I have spent in buying most of my stash, but we all know that patchwork/quilting is a VERY addictive hobby.

One Response

  1. Oh my goodness, you don’t do anything the easy way do you!?

Leave a Reply

