Heart Appeal

Caroline Lewis, author of the Serenity Quilts blog, has launched an appeal to all quilters!

Hello,

I just wanted to draw your attention to an appeal I am making for hearts to make a quilt to raffle off as a prize and in the process raise money for a worthy cause: Cancer Research UK.

I require as many blocks as possible of 8″ square white/cream/red or pink fabric squares with a heart theme embroidered, appliqued, pieced etc onto the backing fabric. I am blogging about this over on thecontentedquilter.blogspot.com .

So far I only have about 30 blocks and would dearly love enough to make more than one quilt. I would be very appreciative of your help.

Cancer Research is a charity close to my heart, my dad had his stomach and spleen removed 2 years ago at the age of 78 and thanks to his amazing surgeon and team of carers he is doing well and has his 80th Bday next month. My husband is the latest casualty of cancer having schwannoma (cancer of the nerve cells) in his leg. I would love to help this amazing charity to continue its good work and find a cure soon.

Thank you
Caroline xx

I hope to make a block or two, although it has been years since I did applique.  A few weeks ago, my mother got an email from her brother (my uncle) to say that his wife (my aunt) had just been diagnosised with secondary breast cancer, despite the fact she had been given the all clear a few years ago. It was a shock to everyone.

So please spread the word, even if you cannot make a heart!

One Response

  1. So sorry to hear about your aunt. Such a worthy cause. I did a couple of blocks over the weekend just need to post them off.

Leave a Reply

