The completed BQS mini

The completed BQS mini by lizzie allen
The completed BQS mini, a photo by lizzie allen on Flickr.

I have surprised myself with the making of this mini!! One of the requirements was that the mini had to be between 12 inches x 12 inches and 24 inches x 24 inches, and mine is approx 14 in x 14 turned out to be 17 x 17 inches, so it’s at the smaller end about middle of the size scale. But what has surprised me is that it has taken me only 2 weeks to make since getting the email giving me details of my secret partner.

This mini has a lot of firsts for me, but 2 that stand out the most are:
1. Continuous binding. I had sewn 4 strips of white (about 40cm in length) together, which was plenty!
2. Mitred corners. Took a bit of time to get the binding to behave, but got there in the end!

My binding is probably not the best that can be done as it is not very even (seems that it had a life of it’s own), but I don’t care! I have enjoyed this little project and have decided to sign up for the next one.

3 Responses

  1. Love it Liz – I wish I had you patience xx

  2. Love those colours! Braver than me going into a swap – well done!

  3. Your mini quilt always makes me smile. It is just so lovely and such cheerful colours.

Leave a Reply

