1 week to go…

Fat Quarterly
Yay! Only 1 week to go till I am with my fellow quilty friends in London.
Lynne @LilysQuilts, who is hosting the lnky party over the FQ blog, posted  a photo of herself on her blog…. Well! Not me! I just don’t like having my photo taken; I can just about stand having it taken for passports and work ID badges.
I have been doing patchwork/quilting since the late ’90s, but ended up on hiatus due to a full time job at a local city council. But due to issues at work last year, I was at home for nearly a month and was looking for something to do that I could put down & pick up without losing my place, unlike knitting or cross-stitch. And over the lasat year I have completed 3 unfinished tops: one of which is now a completed quilt, another is being quilted and one waiting to be quilted.
What you don’t know about, unless you dig around in the older posts, is that although I do have a sewing machine (a basic Toyota machine that cost me £20 from Argos!) I piece, quilt & bind  by hand.  I can’t really explain why I do it, but I really enjoy the slowness of it.  I am self-taught from books & magazines regarding the quilting/binding bit,  but EPP (English Paper Piecing) is not that hard to do.
I will be bringing Autumn Waterfall & Diamonds in the Sky for show and tell.
21 Responses

  1. See you soon !

  2. See you next week!

  3. Oooh how interesting that you are a hand sewer mostly.

    We do NEED a pic though!!!! ;0)

  4. How will you know who you are! Name tag? Look forward to meeting you…soon!

  5. See you soon!

  6. Can’t wait.

  7. Look forward to seeing you there

  8. I love that you do it all by hand. See you next week x

  9. See you there!

  10. See you there. Di x

  11. See you next weekend!

  12. Look forward to seeing you and your hand pieced quilts. Very impressive xx

  13. I’m impressed by the hand piecing bit! :) See you at the retreat!

  14. Looking forward to meeting you at the weekend!

  15. Looking forward to meeting you.

  16. Love doing hand stitching too – shame there’s no photo as now I don’t know who to look out for!

  17. looking forward to to seeing you and your work at the weekend

  18. I’m looking forward to meeting you and your quilts!

  19. Oh boy, handstitching is what I like least :) I’m going to try EPP for the first time though, perhaps I will like after all?!
    See you very soooon!
    Christine

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

